On the 1st of May 1895, The Southern Hotel Parknasilla opened, and the name Parknasilla which means “The field of the willows” began to appear on maps. It was also referred to as the “Bishops House Hotel, Parknasilla”. The story of the construction of architecture is also an interesting one. Eminent architect James Franklin Fuller was chosen by the Great Southern and Western Railway, prior 1895. Fuller himself left an incredible legacy behind, he was responsible for the designs of some of Ireland’s most iconic buildings such as Kylemore Abbey, Ashford Castle, Kenmare Park (formerly the Great Southern Kenmare) and Farmleigh House.